Race News - Northwest 200

Published: 19th April 2015

The first international road race meeting of the year, The Northwest 200 took place from the 10th to the 16th of May at the famous ‘triangle’ circuit in Northern Ireland  The event is held over seven days with the first practice session on the Tuesday, second practice session and three races on the Thursday and the rest of the programme run on the Saturday.  Tuesday’s practice was held in mixed conditions with showers constantly blowing in during the day while Thursday’s practice was held in much nicer conditions during the day with the races run from 6.00pm through to 9.00pm in the evening.


Thursday saw the Supersport, Supertwins and Superstock classes scheduled to race but unfortunately this was cut back to the Supersport and Supertwins due to an incident around the course.  The Supersport race saw Lee Johnston take third position on his East Coast Racing / Burdens Triumph 675 using K-Tech products and Christian Elkin take fourth place in the Supertwin race on his McKinstry Racing Kawasaki ER-6.

Saturday’s racing saw some good battles in all classes, first away was the Superstock Race that had got postponed from Thursday evenings schedule, this again was postponed due to a racing incident.  Next on the programme was the Supersport race were Alastair Seeley (Tyco by TAS Racing Suzuki), Glenn Irwin (Gearlink Kawasaki) and Lee Johnston (East Coast Racing/Burdens Triumph 675) had a wheel to wheel battle over the 6 lap race with Seeley taking the win from Irwin and Johnston with the later two using K-Tech products along with six of the top ten finishers

The Superbike race was again typical NW200 where slipstreaming plays a big part, at the flag it was Alistair Seeley (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing) who took the win followed by Ian Hutchinson (PBM Kawasaki) and Bruce Anstey (Valvoline Racing Honda by Padgetts) with all three riders using K-Tech products along with eight of the top ten finishers.

The Superstock race also saw seven of the top ten finisher using K-Tech product including all three riders on the podium with Lee Johnston (East Coast racing/Burdens BMW) taking the win from Alastair Seeley (Tyco BMW Motorrad Racing) and Ian Hutchinson (PBM Kawasaki).

The second Superbike and Superstock races were not run due to deterioating conditions.